Swamp Angels:

David Atlas, Iain Ball, Lara Joy Evans, Samuel Capps, Holly Childs, Lea Collet and Marios Stamatis, core.pan, Porpentine Charity Heartscape, Marija Bozinovska Jones with MBJ Wetware, Will Kendrick, Rachel McRae, Benoit Ménard, Sarah Montet, Anni Nöps, Eva Papamargariti, Jakob Kudsk Steensen, Viktor Timofeev, Kyle Zeto Thorne

Swamp Protocol is an atmospheric "procession of the damned... a procession of data that science has excluded..."

The film combines scenes shot on location with various artists with other commissioned footage, CGI and neural processing. The result is an ambient and hallucinatory narrative that spreads like a thick fog of dank swamp gas. Multiple logics, systems, and realities are entangled within Swamp Protocol, illustrating the warped mixed-reality paradigm we live in: a pervasive, horizonless swampscape that seems at once ecstatic, dismal and absurd.

Murky and disorienting landscapes, cursed ASMR, fungal figures, dank rituals, experimental intimacies, virtual conspiracies and weird choreographies are at the heart of Swamp Protocol, offering us new ways to think about how we might navigate the post-digital swampscape we inhabit. Might these emergent rituals, tacit procedures and new ways of thinking be the formation of a 'dank enlightenment'?

Swamp Protocol's dark atmosphere is intensified by the haunting soundtrack by producer and genre-fluid DJ Anni Nöps.

Read complete Swamp Protocol publication commissioned by Arebyte Gallery here.

  • Directed / Curated by Dane Sutherland
  • Editing - VFX - neural processing : core.pan
  • Camera operator : Ollie Furlong
  • Music : Anni Nöps
  • Additional sound design : core.pan
  • 3D Henry Kissinger and compositing : Hannah Rose Stewart
  • Performers: Sarah Borga - Harry Bix - Natalia Janula - Max Berendt - Amy Neat - Rumi Josephs
  • Graff : Alexis Milne

Supported by Arts Council England